scientology-reviews-logo

NOTICE: This non-commercial website is NOT affiliated with the Church of Scientology (link).

homeWHERE TO GET HELP: There are now two avenues for Scientology services. Find out what to expect and what...
Scientology Books Self Analysis

Self Analysis Hot

http://scientologyreviews.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/98/8c/69/112_self-analysis-1350533145.jpg
October 13, 2012    
 
4.3 (9)
3667   0   1   0   0   1
Write Review

Book Details

Author
L. Ron Hubbard

Self  Analysis (August 1951):  Possibly the best introduction to the subjects of Dianetics and Scientology. Self Analysis contains both a series of essays on the basic discoveries Ron had made up to this point in his research as well as an extensive processing section that a person can do by themselves. The book contains a special version of the Hubbard Chart of Human Evaluation and a series of tests one can do to plot oneself on the Tone Scale. Then, by applying the processes from the second half of the book, one is guided through a path of self-discovery. These techniques have been in use for more than six decades and Ron referred to them again and again throughout his research, stating that the processes here were capable of curing any neurosis.

This is the starting point for anyone wanting auditing. You will be audited by L. Ron Hubbard himself through the pages of this book.

If you purchase a used or second-hand copy of Self Analysis, try to get one that still contains its little cardboard disc. This will be needed when you do the exercises, although if it is gone, there is a back-up system explained in the book. The disc is used to help you raise your general level of awareness and open up many new channels of perception. LRH found that there were many more channels of perception that what is commonly taught in school — sight, sound, touch, hearing, taste, etc. You will explore many of them in this book.

 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 9 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.1  (9)
Informative 
 
3.6  (9)
Easy to understand 
 
4.6  (9)
Usefulness 
 
5.0  (9)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Self Analysis improves memory, speeds up reaction time, and helps one get rid of emotional baggage that may have been holding them back in life. It's a great way to "Know Thyself", and life can look bright and interesting again if this is done to completion. IMO, doing the processes in Self Analysis is the best way to find out for oneself on their own, in their own privacy, if Scientology "processing" really works or not.

(Note: Today, I am a Progressive Christian, and I apply what I consider the valid parts of Scientology I consider true for me in my life. This book is NOT incompatible with Christianity.)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Safe December 10, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

As a Christian, I find this book helpful in my quest for Truth

Self Analysis improves memory, speeds up reaction time, and helps one get rid of emotional baggage that may have been holding them back in life. It's a great way to "Know Thyself", and life can look bright and interesting again if this is done to completion. IMO, doing the processes in Self Analysis is the best way to find out for oneself on their own, in their own privacy, if Scientology "processing" really works or not.

(Note: Today, I am a Progressive Christian, and I apply what I consider the valid parts of Scientology I consider true for me in my life. This book is NOT incompatible with Christianity.)

Where I stand

I am a...
Other

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Normally, I don't like the 2007 Bridge Publications versions, as the current Bridge Publications has altered LRH's texts. Self Analysis, however, is an exception.

I have gone through 3 editions of Self Analysis. 1) Copyright 1951, 1968 by L. Ron Hubbard (Reprinted 1976) ISBN: 0884040143. 2) Copyright 1982 by L. Ron Hubbard, ISBN: 0884041093. 3) Copyright 1951, 2007 L. Ron Hubbard Library, ISBN: 9781403144126. Except for a few benign editor's notes (which were not clarified as editor's notes in any version) as far as I can tell, all the core texts are the same.

The 1976 Reprint of the 1951/1968 version is compact, light, and easy to take around with you.

The 1982 edition by Bridge Publications is the best edition (IMO), partly because of the convenient definitions on each page. The 1982 edition also has the most complete definitions of 303 words. Non-Scientology words are sourced as to WHICH dictionary they came from.

The 2007 version is second best (IMO). The 2007 edition I got is the spiral edition, which idea I like. It has 356 definitions including idioms used in the book

Personally, I recommend the 1982 edition if you can find it.
Cons
I can't stand the cover on the 1976 reprint (with a dog) and the 2007 edition (a gloomy grey picture of a shadowy man on a desert). Of course, the pictures don't effect the usability of Self Analysis.

The 1976 Reprint severely lacks in definitions in its glossary.

The 1982 Edition could have included more definitions of idioms.

2007 Edition: Non-referenced words and definitions. The following 27 words, nonsensically (IMO), were taken out of the 2007 glossary, which are in the 1982 edition.

The 27 OMITTED words and definitions from 2007 edition (previously in 1982 edition):

affinity, basic, consciousness,covert hostility, differentiate, emotion, hypnotism, illusion, implant, invalidate, irrationality, knowledge, maliciously, neurotic, personality, physical universe, pleasure, present time, problem, reality, reason, recall, succumb, suppress, time track, unconsciousness, validate

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
It was one of my first books I read from Ron. I still remember how astonishing those data were. I could actually spot myself on the tonescale and where I was basically emotionally stuck. By doing the procedures in this book I suddenly could remember my past better and better. It was just amazing to remember things I did as a little child. Much later I found out who I was even before. THAT was really thrilling as I always believed in reincarnation. Big LIKE for this book!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
3.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by tomking November 13, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (7)

Very usefull book

It was one of my first books I read from Ron. I still remember how astonishing those data were. I could actually spot myself on the tonescale and where I was basically emotionally stuck. By doing the procedures in this book I suddenly could remember my past better and better. It was just amazing to remember things I did as a little child. Much later I found out who I was even before. THAT was really thrilling as I always believed in reincarnation. Big LIKE for this book!

Where I stand

I am a...
Other

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
easy to apply, very usefull in moments of upsets or finding out about yourself or improving your memory
available in other languages than English

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
A great way to find out what Scientology really can DO for you with no BS.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
3.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Espiritu November 13, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Practical Self-improvement

A great way to find out what Scientology really can DO for you with no BS.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
This is a great book. It is very practical and straight forward. You don't have to understand any principles behind Scientology or even be interested in them to gain personal benefit from applying these techniques. Just make sure that you understand the exact procedure. Then do it. You might want to draw up a little "flow chart" to remind you of the few If-Then steps. Then just do it. You can do it by yourself or with a friend. Either way I think that, if a person uses these techniques EVERY day for 30-60 minutes, at the end of two weeks most people will notice that their lives just spontaneously improved. It's kind of subtly miraculous. And cool. Anyhow, if that happens for you and you wonder why that happened, you can always go read up on the principles behind the techniques. Otherwise, simply ENJOY!

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
The least this book allow me to game is yes:

- Better memory, especially the ability to recall clear pictures
- Much more dynamism and determination
- No more nightmares but pleasant dreams instead
- Often a feeling of happiness, especially with the last list of questions "Stabilization", short but it is the one I prefer :)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
3.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by IdealGoal November 11, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

So powerful and simple to boost one's dynamism :)

The least this book allow me to game is yes:

- Better memory, especially the ability to recall clear pictures
- Much more dynamism and determination
- No more nightmares but pleasant dreams instead
- Often a feeling of happiness, especially with the last list of questions "Stabilization", short but it is the one I prefer :)

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
- Simplicity
- Easy to use
- Can do it for very very short time in a day
- Very efficient for boost one's dynamism
- Improve very brightly one's ability to recall clear pictures of past experiences
- Nice feeling to experiment when contact moments of past pleasure, happiness or bright successes
- Really help to get more confident in life
Cons
- Light process
- Not very deep in theoretical things in Scientology, even if very far enough for the use

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
Since leaving the Corporate Evil Empire of Greed, um, the Church of Scientology, I continue to recommend this particular form of counseling to my friends.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
4.0
Easy to understand 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Riptide November 11, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (7)

Scientology works.

Since leaving the Corporate Evil Empire of Greed, um, the Church of Scientology, I continue to recommend this particular form of counseling to my friends.

Where I stand

I am a...
Other

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
I received auditing on these techniques from the Corporate Church of Scientology in 2003. My auditor was skilled and a bright person. In my opinion, these characteristics are not a guaranty when you sign up for services with the Church of Scientology. This level was a blast for me. It gave me improved confidence and knowledge and better control over functions of my mind that I had taken for granted, or assumed were not subject to improvement. It was not uncommon for my overall emotional state to hover at a high level, I would frequently break out into song or simple joyfulness throughout the day for no reason whatsoever. My memory improved dramatically and I gained a sense of confidence in my ability to retrieve memories from my past and this gave me a sense of empowerment. Every level of auditing I got in Scientology built upon this new ability and I think that doing it was extremely important, even if I had never done any more Scientology. The book Self-Anaylsis by L. Ron Hubbard contains the same steps that you can do with yourself, or even with another person.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
This is a great book, especially as an introduction into Scientology. The self analysis lists are a brilliant work. They can be done easily without having to get much theory first. You can do them on your own and make your own experiences to see how auditing works. It is also possible to do them with another person to give mutual benefit.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
4.0
Easy to understand 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by KA November 11, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

Great for intro

This is a great book, especially as an introduction into Scientology. The self analysis lists are a brilliant work. They can be done easily without having to get much theory first. You can do them on your own and make your own experiences to see how auditing works. It is also possible to do them with another person to give mutual benefit.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Easy and practical. You can do it on your own - and with sb else.
Cons
none

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
A good book to directly apply auditing and a good starting point. But if you consider to start with a book of a more theoretical kind, you might rather consider "Science of survival" than this one.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Wow factor 
 
3.0
Informative 
 
3.0
Easy to understand 
 
3.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by scrub November 10, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

It's a must

A good book to directly apply auditing and a good starting point. But if you consider to start with a book of a more theoretical kind, you might rather consider "Science of survival" than this one.

Where I stand

I am a...
Other

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
I had ran someone on Self Analysis and within weeks we had to run a Dianetic incident.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
2.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by mkmrmny November 10, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

If you don't use it ... you loose it ...

I had ran someone on Self Analysis and within weeks we had to run a Dianetic incident.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Sometimes memory and viewpoints seem weak. This book is an incredible aid. I have ran it on others and it is amazing the negative things that come to the surface when you are asking peasant questions. I wish have had ran each list.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
This is one LRH book I would feel comfortable recommending to anyone. It takes one on a journey of self discovery, where one can unearth long forgotten memories, and often be surprised at just how much of one's life one had forgotten. This book can be used at any time, with positive results each time. It is really valuable in finding out where one is at, and uncovering and removing blockages. It also has very useful tools for "grounding" back to reality after each session. This little book is a book of gold.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by eagle November 09, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (23)

A little book of gold - Self Analysis

This is one LRH book I would feel comfortable recommending to anyone. It takes one on a journey of self discovery, where one can unearth long forgotten memories, and often be surprised at just how much of one's life one had forgotten. This book can be used at any time, with positive results each time. It is really valuable in finding out where one is at, and uncovering and removing blockages. It also has very useful tools for "grounding" back to reality after each session. This little book is a book of gold.

Where I stand

I am a...
ex-Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
I loved that this is one you can do all by yourself, in the privacy of your own home, and in your own time.
Cons
None.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews