scientology-reviews-logo

NOTICE: This non-commercial website is NOT affiliated with the Church of Scientology (link).

homeWHERE TO GET HELP: There are now two avenues for Scientology services. Find out what to expect and what...
Scientology Books Introduction to Scientology Ethics

Introduction to Scientology Ethics Hot

http://scientologyreviews.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/51/f9/21/101_intro-scientology-ethics-1350517932.jpg
October 13, 2012    
 
3.6 (8)
2172   0   1   0   0   0
Write Review

Book Details

Author
L. Ron Hubbard

Introduction to Scientology Ethics (1968):  This book contains a compilation of easy-to-use Scientology tools intended to help resolve problems relating to survival and correct choices in life. Those tools include a series of formulas by which general conditions can be improved, the earliest description of the sociopathic or "anti social" personality which lacks any and all conscience, know how on the resolution of quarrels, and more.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 8 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.6
Wow factor 
 
3.5  (8)
Informative 
 
3.6  (8)
Easy to understand 
 
3.4  (8)
Usefulness 
 
4.0  (8)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I use the earlier version, blue cover, which has less Miscavige alterations to it.
This book must be studied carefully, understood well and then applied to life.
I have found that when one follows these 3 simple steps - study, understand, apply - you would ALWAYS be successful in life, be happy and achieve your goals.
This is an LRH masterpiece, a great present of his to mankind.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
4.0
Easy to understand 
 
3.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by dnlmbrgr July 07, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Tools for life

I use the earlier version, blue cover, which has less Miscavige alterations to it.
This book must be studied carefully, understood well and then applied to life.
I have found that when one follows these 3 simple steps - study, understand, apply - you would ALWAYS be successful in life, be happy and achieve your goals.
This is an LRH masterpiece, a great present of his to mankind.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
I have the 2007 edition of this book and I used to have the original one that was as L. Ron Hubbard actually wrote it. I noticed from the previous poster here (Worsel)that there had been many changes including a whole chapter missing in the new edition. I used to have the original Introduction to Scientology Ethics book, and I found a copy (original) Introduction to Scientology Ethics on Ebay and ordered it.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
4.0
Easy to understand 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by ricky December 03, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

The Original Is What You Need

I have the 2007 edition of this book and I used to have the original one that was as L. Ron Hubbard actually wrote it. I noticed from the previous poster here (Worsel)that there had been many changes including a whole chapter missing in the new edition. I used to have the original Introduction to Scientology Ethics book, and I found a copy (original) Introduction to Scientology Ethics on Ebay and ordered it.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
The original book helps one understand and improve life
Cons
none

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
The 2007 edition of this book seems to start out with an untruth. Its address “To the Reader” begins with: “This book is presented in its original form and is ….”
When I read this I was sure the author of these lines had lost the last coin of his observational power. The original book was 75 pages and even those were only about half of the size of the new edition. The 2007 edition is 520 pages thick. Many of the texts found in the 2007 edition were written AFTER 1968. They cannot possibly have been part of the 1968 original form. That called for further looking.
I noticed, the key chapter for the entire subject and book is even missing in this edition. Further looking into the prior editions revealed that this chapter has been missing in every edition from 1989 on. Three years after the death of L. Ron Hubbard the very first chapter had been removed from his book!
Remembering the promotional speech from Mr. David Miscavige and the countless telephone calls and promotional materials I had received I wondered, if this chapter could possibly not have been by L. Ron Hubbard and therefore had been “cleaned” out? No, it is from L. Ron Hubbard. It was taken from the lecture “Organization and Ethics” of 18 May 1965. I pulled out the cassette and could listen to Ron saying these things. So that couldn’t have been the reason.

My final conclusion: the reason for taking out this chapter is the chapter itself:

“THE PURPOSE OF ETHICS”

“All that Ethics is for – the totality of the reason for its existence and operation – is simply that additional tool necessary to make it possible to apply the technology of Scientology.
Man does not have that purpose for his law or his justice. He wants to squash people who are giving him trouble.
That is not the case with Scientology Ethics which having the above purpose is a fabulously successful activity.
Man of course has a tremendous reaction to something called justice or what he laughingly calls justice. But Man has no understanding to back up any of his hangings that he commits himself to and in fact has no real justice because it has no end product. Its total end product, if you call it one, is punishment.
That it doesn’t straighten out the community is manifest. Here and there it does some good but the crime statistic of the world is going up much more steeply than the rise of population. I have recently spoken to those in charge of law enforcement in the world’s best police force and they were in a very apathetic frame of mind. They just wanted to lie down and quit. Because there is no end product to what they are doing.
Worse than that, the systems of disciplinary actions which are employed on earth today are incapable of doing more than worsening an individual.
Now when you bring in an actual Ethics system across this line you jar a lot of people’s aberrations. They REACT. And it is a very interesting fact that a far greater proportion of people in Scientology today favor a decent ethical law and favor ethics actions than have reacted against it, because they see that it will make things go right. They see that it results in better training, better technical application, a better organization, and a better overall grip on the subjects that Scientology addresses, and keeps the abuses of the subject minimal.
We are factually only here helping people to help themselves to better their conditions and the conditions of life. That is our total action.
As that additional tool for making it all possible, the Ethics system of Scientology is tremendously successful.”
~~~

The above is the complete text. If you’d print that out and stick it in front of the 2007 book it would make it a greatly improved book. Because the purpose of the subject is senior to all policies and governs all of the policies contained in this book!
Therefore, a “Policy” that does not align or contribute to “make it possible to apply the technology of Scientology “ and so “helping people to help themselves to better their conditions and the conditions of life” is a MISAPPLICATION. If it didn’t lead to a bettered condition, it wasn’t applied in the direction of its purpose.
Looking at the bad effects from “applying” some “Policy”, the omission of the purpose of Scientology Ethics becomes prominent in its due importance. It is not a small point to omit it from this book.
Each single action of an Ethics Officer has to be judged against this purpose. Only if it holds this test it can be said to be Scientology Ethics. If it doesn’t, it is but a misapplication.
~~~

But back to the beginning statement of the 2007 book “This book is presented in its original form…”. I have finally found my misunderstood: It was “This book”. The title was slightly changed. The original 1968 book title “Introduction into Scientology Ethics” by L. Ron Hubbard and the title of this book are very similar. This one is called “L. Ron Hubbard/ Introduction into Scientology Ethics”. And because it is a new book it can be rightly stated “This book is presented in its original form…”. The 1968 edition could have had that statement as well, and rightly so. This could be stated for any new book. But why would someone use such a legal nicety?
And with what purpose?
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Wow factor 
 
3.0
Informative 
 
3.0
Easy to understand 
 
3.0
Usefulness 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Worsel November 16, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

The 2007 Edition

The 2007 edition of this book seems to start out with an untruth. Its address “To the Reader” begins with: “This book is presented in its original form and is ….”
When I read this I was sure the author of these lines had lost the last coin of his observational power. The original book was 75 pages and even those were only about half of the size of the new edition. The 2007 edition is 520 pages thick. Many of the texts found in the 2007 edition were written AFTER 1968. They cannot possibly have been part of the 1968 original form. That called for further looking.
I noticed, the key chapter for the entire subject and book is even missing in this edition. Further looking into the prior editions revealed that this chapter has been missing in every edition from 1989 on. Three years after the death of L. Ron Hubbard the very first chapter had been removed from his book!
Remembering the promotional speech from Mr. David Miscavige and the countless telephone calls and promotional materials I had received I wondered, if this chapter could possibly not have been by L. Ron Hubbard and therefore had been “cleaned” out? No, it is from L. Ron Hubbard. It was taken from the lecture “Organization and Ethics” of 18 May 1965. I pulled out the cassette and could listen to Ron saying these things. So that couldn’t have been the reason.

My final conclusion: the reason for taking out this chapter is the chapter itself:

“THE PURPOSE OF ETHICS”

“All that Ethics is for – the totality of the reason for its existence and operation – is simply that additional tool necessary to make it possible to apply the technology of Scientology.
Man does not have that purpose for his law or his justice. He wants to squash people who are giving him trouble.
That is not the case with Scientology Ethics which having the above purpose is a fabulously successful activity.
Man of course has a tremendous reaction to something called justice or what he laughingly calls justice. But Man has no understanding to back up any of his hangings that he commits himself to and in fact has no real justice because it has no end product. Its total end product, if you call it one, is punishment.
That it doesn’t straighten out the community is manifest. Here and there it does some good but the crime statistic of the world is going up much more steeply than the rise of population. I have recently spoken to those in charge of law enforcement in the world’s best police force and they were in a very apathetic frame of mind. They just wanted to lie down and quit. Because there is no end product to what they are doing.
Worse than that, the systems of disciplinary actions which are employed on earth today are incapable of doing more than worsening an individual.
Now when you bring in an actual Ethics system across this line you jar a lot of people’s aberrations. They REACT. And it is a very interesting fact that a far greater proportion of people in Scientology today favor a decent ethical law and favor ethics actions than have reacted against it, because they see that it will make things go right. They see that it results in better training, better technical application, a better organization, and a better overall grip on the subjects that Scientology addresses, and keeps the abuses of the subject minimal.
We are factually only here helping people to help themselves to better their conditions and the conditions of life. That is our total action.
As that additional tool for making it all possible, the Ethics system of Scientology is tremendously successful.”
~~~

The above is the complete text. If you’d print that out and stick it in front of the 2007 book it would make it a greatly improved book. Because the purpose of the subject is senior to all policies and governs all of the policies contained in this book!
Therefore, a “Policy” that does not align or contribute to “make it possible to apply the technology of Scientology “ and so “helping people to help themselves to better their conditions and the conditions of life” is a MISAPPLICATION. If it didn’t lead to a bettered condition, it wasn’t applied in the direction of its purpose.
Looking at the bad effects from “applying” some “Policy”, the omission of the purpose of Scientology Ethics becomes prominent in its due importance. It is not a small point to omit it from this book.
Each single action of an Ethics Officer has to be judged against this purpose. Only if it holds this test it can be said to be Scientology Ethics. If it doesn’t, it is but a misapplication.
~~~

But back to the beginning statement of the 2007 book “This book is presented in its original form…”. I have finally found my misunderstood: It was “This book”. The title was slightly changed. The original 1968 book title “Introduction into Scientology Ethics” by L. Ron Hubbard and the title of this book are very similar. This one is called “L. Ron Hubbard/ Introduction into Scientology Ethics”. And because it is a new book it can be rightly stated “This book is presented in its original form…”. The 1968 edition could have had that statement as well, and rightly so. This could be stated for any new book. But why would someone use such a legal nicety?
And with what purpose?

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Cons
The spirit of the first sentence of the address and the omitted first chapter discourage me to do anything further with this book without taking the pains of comparing it word for word with its original essays and policies.
After realizing the things described above I lost the trust to have a proper rendition of the subject from that source and refer rather to the Policy Letters from where the Chapters were taken.
If done properly the understanding and application of the subject does enormous good. If “applied” with the purpose lost out of sight the result can be catastrophic, as the stories of many independents evidence.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
No
Was this review helpful to you? 
I used the tools in this book for over 20 years and found them helpful in improving any area that I wanted to improve. I recently found that the copies that were republished as part of the "Basics" have had some of the text removed. So, I now refer to the HCO Policy letters written by Ron on the subject.
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
3.0
Easy to understand 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Angela November 12, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

This book contains vital recipes to succeed in any area in life

I used the tools in this book for over 20 years and found them helpful in improving any area that I wanted to improve. I recently found that the copies that were republished as part of the "Basics" have had some of the text removed. So, I now refer to the HCO Policy letters written by Ron on the subject.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Contains formulas and tools when applied correctly can ensure success in any area of ones life.
Cons
The subject of Ethics and Justice has been severely abused by certain people within the Corporate Church of Scientology which is sad, as when it is applied correctly this technology can bring about miracles for an individual or groups. Additionally, the context in this book has been altered from what LRH intended for the subject. Note that it is "based" on the works of LRH. My advice is that if you find something not making sense: 1. Make sure you understand the words in the text prior to where it started to not make sense. 2. Refer to the HCO Policy letter(s) written by LRH on the subject. The references can be found in the Organizational Executive Course (OEC)Books

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
This book will make the difference in your life. When you forget what's in it, life will become harder.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by spdeclared November 11, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

This is a book that tells you how to succeed in life

This book will make the difference in your life. When you forget what's in it, life will become harder.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
I am a successful biusiness owner with a 6 digit income. Introduction to scientology ethics is what makes the difference in life and in success. Perhaps the book it's not easy to comprehend withouth having some scientology background, but what is in it does make the difference in life. It made me become wealthy but more than anything happy.
Cons
Not easy to understand for new scientologist

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
Just get the information on Ethics and Justice from the source materials and realize the the codes no longer apply due to abuse.
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Wow factor 
 
1.0
Informative 
 
2.0
Easy to understand 
 
1.0
Usefulness 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Patterson November 10, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Pass on this one.

Just get the information on Ethics and Justice from the source materials and realize the the codes no longer apply due to abuse.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
One-stop shop for the ethics and justice codes for the church.
Cons
It is by definition an alter-is of the HCO Policy Letters that are actually the source material for the ethics codes. It is far better to use the OEC volume 0 and 1 for these references.
Also, it is completely inappropriate to have the justice codes (misdemeanors, crimes, and high crimes) and the justice side of the PTS (Potential Trouble Source) put in a book that is clearly put together supposedly for public consumption.

The codes themselves are what the church considers are transgressions - and they are NOT Scientology technology. They do not apply to anyone who is not a Scientologist. They are not even good examples of how justice should be executed. Unlike in law, the codes are written in very broad strokes, and are not precise. As a result, you have a number of ethics conditions assignments and declarations that will cite a very vague crime as one the person is supposedly "guilty" of, like "overworking an executive" by shirking their job. And speaking of job, these codes are generally more applicable to members of Scientology staff.

Furthermore, the descriptions of investigatory procedures that Hubbard put together - Boards of Inquiry, Committees of Evidence, and Ethics Interrogatories - are not even practiced with consistency by the church anymore. On paper, a Committee of Evidence sounds like a possibly good way to get to the bottom of a problem. In practice, they end up being rubber stamps of what the "senior" said needed to happen - this, of course, if the committee of evidence happened at all. Must of what passes for "justice" in the current church is arbitrary verbal declarations that someone is no longer on board, or is "suppressive."

As a final note, it should be pointed out that there are people who are "Suppressive Persons". In non-Scientology parlance, these people are "sociopaths." They exist. One of the problems with the justice codes are they are currently followed is that people are declared Suppressive when they are not all all suppressive. This removes the idea of a suppressive person from a technical definition to a bureaucratic definition - an SP is someone who does not toe the line. This is a big problem in the current church.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
No
Was this review helpful to you? 
Introduction to Scientology Ethics is without a doubt my most favorite book! I have a later reprint of an early edition of the book and it's just as thin as can be. But it's packed full of information that I can and do use in life to better conditions. Later editions of the book just became too laden with the addition of material and thus lost the simplicity of ethics. In effect, the subject became complex and abusive rather than a tool to enhance the survival of self and others.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by TheWidowDenk November 10, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (21)

Ethics is reason and the contemplation of optimum survival

Introduction to Scientology Ethics is without a doubt my most favorite book! I have a later reprint of an early edition of the book and it's just as thin as can be. But it's packed full of information that I can and do use in life to better conditions. Later editions of the book just became too laden with the addition of material and thus lost the simplicity of ethics. In effect, the subject became complex and abusive rather than a tool to enhance the survival of self and others.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
The entire subject has become corrupted in Scientology. I would look else where.
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Wow factor 
 
1.0
Informative 
 
3.0
Easy to understand 
 
2.0
Usefulness 
 
3.0
Reviewed by mkmrmny November 09, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Ethics is not Justice

The entire subject has become corrupted in Scientology. I would look else where.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
There are some basic factors one needs to know in order to have a chance at better survival.
Cons
Ethics is mis-used and can easily make one introvert.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
No
Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews