scientology-reviews-logo

NOTICE: This non-commercial website is NOT affiliated with the Church of Scientology (link).

homeWHERE TO GET HELP: There are now two avenues for Scientology services. Find out what to expect and what...
Training Services Student Hat

Student Hat Hot

October 15, 2012    
 
3.9 (8)
5759   0   0   0   0   0
Write Review

The Student Hat teaches how to study focusing primarily on the three barriers to study, lack of mass, skipped gradients and the misunderstood word.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 8 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.9
Makes life easier 
 
4.1  (8)
Worth the investment 
 
4.3  (8)
Easy to do 
 
3.0  (8)
Usefulness of information 
 
4.1  (8)
Already have an account? or Create an account
This is about the 3rd 'version' of the Student Hat I have done, and it is fabulous. The biggest difference is the new Dictionary. Every time I listen to LRH's Lectures I get new data, or see new applications and ramifications to the data. Totally recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Makes life easier 
 
5.0
Worth the investment 
 
5.0
Easy to do 
 
5.0
Usefulness of information 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gareth June 16, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The NEW Student Hat

This is about the 3rd 'version' of the Student Hat I have done, and it is fabulous. The biggest difference is the new Dictionary. Every time I listen to LRH's Lectures I get new data, or see new applications and ramifications to the data. Totally recommend it.

Where I stand

I am a...
Church of Scientology member

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
The Fantastic New Dictionary that clearly explains EVERY term used from the photographic ones to the Scientology ones. The lightly edited new lectures, that do not skip even a little of the tech, but don't push people into long word chains of non-essentials. The SMOOOOOTH gradient. The excellent supervision.
Cons
None.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
My sons all did this course. As they progressed through to completion of it I felt the peace of mind grow for them and their futures as I knew that information provided them with the means to puruse anything in life they chose to do and succeed.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Makes life easier 
 
5.0
Worth the investment 
 
5.0
Easy to do 
 
3.0
Usefulness of information 
 
5.0
Reviewed by TroubleShooter December 11, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

The Student Hat Course

My sons all did this course. As they progressed through to completion of it I felt the peace of mind grow for them and their futures as I knew that information provided them with the means to puruse anything in life they chose to do and succeed.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
The Student Hat course was one of the most valuable and used pieces of information I’ve learned. It helped me gain the confidence to know there wasn’t ANYTHING I couldn’t learn if I wanted to. That created a whole new horizon for me and later for my sons who did the course when they were 12. I couldn’t say for sure which came first their 150 IQs or the Student Hat course but neither of them ever backed off from pursuing courses for their lives which required tremendous study and ability to understand and apply their knowledge. If you never do another course of LRH’s the Student Hat will either open the door to your life through learning potentials or open it wider.
Cons
None.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
Despite the issue of having "remimeo" as the first word I read on the course, and the delay caused by the mother of all word clearing chains, I really enjoyed this course. I am university educated, but the tools given are invaluable in improving one's ability to study and research. It was new information to me, and I really would have loved to have known all that when I was still back in school.
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Makes life easier 
 
4.0
Worth the investment 
 
4.0
Easy to do 
 
3.0
Usefulness of information 
 
4.0
Reviewed by eagle November 11, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (23)

Good core concepts for studying

Despite the issue of having "remimeo" as the first word I read on the course, and the delay caused by the mother of all word clearing chains, I really enjoyed this course. I am university educated, but the tools given are invaluable in improving one's ability to study and research. It was new information to me, and I really would have loved to have known all that when I was still back in school.

Where I stand

I am a...
ex-Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Poeple can say what they will, but the basic information of clearing up misunderstood words, putting "mass" to concepts by demonstrate it in real life (such as building clay models of concepts), and other aspects of the course are absolutely invaluable in the area of studying.
Cons
A bot clumsily arranged, and they really should NOT have had "Remimeo" as the first word I read on the course! :) I was brand new to the subject, and had to spend ages on a word clearing chain before I could actually start the course!

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
This is tricky stuff. I sup'd for ten years at Saint Hill and ITO. I have written extensively about the subject online in articles and message board posts. I used to think that "Study Tech" was so wonderful, but in reality what is wonderful is what I cherry-picked out of study tech to use while discarding the rest. For example, in the Study Tapes Hubbard talks about the importance of the student's power of choice over data, being able to accept or reject information under study. Very true. But in Method 4 word-clearing, if you have a disagreement with something Hubbard said then you must have a misunderstood word. Most modern CofS supervisors do not make use of the power of choice data, pushing the infallibility of Hubbard instead. As a sup, for preference I used Method 3 word clearing as THE laser-sharp debug tool for fixing up students and I was very good at it too. I've written that up extensively. The other methods of word-clearing aren't so hot, and Method 2 and Method 4 really suck *as written.* A good sup and good word-clearer can work their way around the idiocies (and we did), but what is being done in such a case is NOT study tech. Study Tech is the whole enchilada, the good stuff and the crap too.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Makes life easier 
 
3.0
Worth the investment 
 
3.0
Easy to do 
 
3.0
Usefulness of information 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Paul Adams November 10, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (47)

Some bits are hot and some are not

This is tricky stuff. I sup'd for ten years at Saint Hill and ITO. I have written extensively about the subject online in articles and message board posts. I used to think that "Study Tech" was so wonderful, but in reality what is wonderful is what I cherry-picked out of study tech to use while discarding the rest. For example, in the Study Tapes Hubbard talks about the importance of the student's power of choice over data, being able to accept or reject information under study. Very true. But in Method 4 word-clearing, if you have a disagreement with something Hubbard said then you must have a misunderstood word. Most modern CofS supervisors do not make use of the power of choice data, pushing the infallibility of Hubbard instead. As a sup, for preference I used Method 3 word clearing as THE laser-sharp debug tool for fixing up students and I was very good at it too. I've written that up extensively. The other methods of word-clearing aren't so hot, and Method 2 and Method 4 really suck *as written.* A good sup and good word-clearer can work their way around the idiocies (and we did), but what is being done in such a case is NOT study tech. Study Tech is the whole enchilada, the good stuff and the crap too.

Where I stand

I am a...
ex-Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Some parts of study tech are wonderfully useful.
Cons
Some parts of study tech are just plain awful.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
No
Was this review helpful to you? 
The simplified study courses designed for kids or for students new to Scientology do cover the essentials. But this course is study tech presented by LRH just as he developed it. In the lectures (mostly taken from the SHSBC) he candidly explains his thoughts on study and the barriers to study and incidentally talks about life at Saint Hill in the sixties and some of his other research. As well as the essentials of study that apply to any student anywhere, the course teaches all the practicalities of studying in the Academy, including Method 9 word clearing and how to avoid catching the dreaded Verbal Data.
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Makes life easier 
 
4.0
Worth the investment 
 
5.0
Easy to do 
 
2.0
Usefulness of information 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Alael November 10, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

Study tech, direct from Source

The simplified study courses designed for kids or for students new to Scientology do cover the essentials. But this course is study tech presented by LRH just as he developed it. In the lectures (mostly taken from the SHSBC) he candidly explains his thoughts on study and the barriers to study and incidentally talks about life at Saint Hill in the sixties and some of his other research. As well as the essentials of study that apply to any student anywhere, the course teaches all the practicalities of studying in the Academy, including Method 9 word clearing and how to avoid catching the dreaded Verbal Data.

Where I stand

I am a...
Church of Scientology member

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Covers the whole of study tech, with fascinating LRH lectures.
Cons
Might be too steep a gradient for some beginners.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
You can get much of the data on the kids courses.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Makes life easier 
 
2.0
Worth the investment 
 
2.0
Easy to do 
 
1.0
Usefulness of information 
 
3.0
Reviewed by mkmrmny November 10, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Was too long.

You can get much of the data on the kids courses.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
You really get all the study data.
Cons
Way too long and LRH goes off on tangents.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
No
Was this review helpful to you? 
When I did the Student Hat Course I had no idea what I will get out of it. I was used to devour books and had always been an excellent student at school, but I was willing to learn how to study. Because after all, all of us have studied, but never were told HOW to do it. So, I easily go through the course and realized why I had forgotten all the things I was supposed to have learned at school and university; I realized why I was good at some things, but not at others; I finally had the tools that will help me to study, understand and apply any subject of my choosing. This course is not only for students, it is useful for leaders, executives, women and anybody that wants to become a master of certain subject. I strongly recommend it. Silvia LL
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Makes life easier 
 
5.0
Worth the investment 
 
5.0
Easy to do 
 
4.0
Usefulness of information 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Silvia November 09, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

The Student Hat Course

When I did the Student Hat Course I had no idea what I will get out of it. I was used to devour books and had always been an excellent student at school, but I was willing to learn how to study. Because after all, all of us have studied, but never were told HOW to do it. So, I easily go through the course and realized why I had forgotten all the things I was supposed to have learned at school and university; I realized why I was good at some things, but not at others; I finally had the tools that will help me to study, understand and apply any subject of my choosing. This course is not only for students, it is useful for leaders, executives, women and anybody that wants to become a master of certain subject. I strongly recommend it. Silvia LL

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
A much needed step in the direction of better comprehension
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Makes life easier 
 
5.0
Worth the investment 
 
5.0
Easy to do 
 
3.0
Usefulness of information 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Tim S November 09, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Usefulness of the material studied

A much needed step in the direction of better comprehension

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
The materials studied on this course are taught no where else. It is invaluable to anyone wishing to further their education or study anything of interest to them. The difficulties in learning a subject are laid bare. The knowledge gained will help one in any field of endeavor where study and understanding are needed.

One is learning the nuts and bolts of why learning and study are sometimes difficult and/or fail.
Cons
It's work.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews