scientology-reviews-logo

NOTICE: This non-commercial website is NOT affiliated with the Church of Scientology (link).

homeWHERE TO GET HELP: There are now two avenues for Scientology services. Find out what to expect and what...
Scientology Books Scientology: The Fundamentals of Thought

Scientology: The Fundamentals of Thought Hot

http://scientologyreviews.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/78/f2/39/111_fundamentals-of-thought-1350532921.jpg
October 13, 2012    
 
4.7 (6)
1488   0   1   0   0   0
Write Review

Book Details

Author
L. Ron Hubbard

Scientology: The Fundamentals of Thought (1956): This was the first book written to provide a beginning introduction and broad overview to the full subject of Scientology, rather than just a single aspect of it such as Scientology applied to work. In it, Hubbard discusses basic Scientology principles and discoveries such as the cycle of action, conditions of existence, eight dynamics, affinity-reality-communication triangle and much more. It also includes methods of application making the book a more complete package.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Wow factor 
 
4.7  (6)
Informative 
 
4.8  (6)
Easy to understand 
 
4.5  (6)
Usefulness 
 
4.7  (6)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The first Scientology book I read. I highly recommend it for beginners.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
4.0
Reviewed by turkeybacon April 17, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Great Introduction into Scientology

The first Scientology book I read. I highly recommend it for beginners.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Great introduction into Scientology basics. Explains some auditing basics well, too.
Cons
Doesn't explain some content well enough.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
Very good introduction.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by pmm0724 November 28, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (13)

Good Introduction

Very good introduction.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
This book gives many of the basic concepts of Scientology in an easy to understand manner.
Cons
None

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
This book is split into two parts, and encompasses the evolution and expansion of concepts from Dianetics, to Scientology. It explains the basic principles of Scientology, from the cycle of action, the conditions of existence, the eight dynamics and the ARC triangle, among others. This part is easy for anyone to understand.

The second part, entitled "Scientology Processing", I feel would require some knowledge of basic auditing principles, and thus is not suitable for entry level reading. However, for those who do have some background, it covers such core Scientology concepts such as beingness, doingness and havingness, self-determinism and pan-determinism, game and no-game conditions, and auditing procedures and processes. For anyone training as an auditor, this is essential knowledge.
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Wow factor 
 
4.0
Informative 
 
4.0
Easy to understand 
 
3.0
Usefulness 
 
4.0
Reviewed by eagle November 12, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (23)

A little basic book on the fundamentals of Scientology

This book is split into two parts, and encompasses the evolution and expansion of concepts from Dianetics, to Scientology. It explains the basic principles of Scientology, from the cycle of action, the conditions of existence, the eight dynamics and the ARC triangle, among others. This part is easy for anyone to understand.

The second part, entitled "Scientology Processing", I feel would require some knowledge of basic auditing principles, and thus is not suitable for entry level reading. However, for those who do have some background, it covers such core Scientology concepts such as beingness, doingness and havingness, self-determinism and pan-determinism, game and no-game conditions, and auditing procedures and processes. For anyone training as an auditor, this is essential knowledge.

Where I stand

I am a...
ex-Scientologist

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Part One, basic principles, is easy for anyone to read and understand.
Cons
Part Two, Scientology processing, requires some background in the concepts for auditor training. I would thus recommend Part One only to people with no background in the subject.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
This is a book you can read over and over, and every time, you will find something new that helps you understand life a little better. As another reviewer wrote, there is something both new and familiar about the concepts presented. It's easy to understand and to see how the information applies to your own life. And there is a surprising depth of information in a relatively short and easy read. This is one of the first books I read on the subject of Scientology and I continue to use the data from this book every day.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by cyntheta November 11, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

One of my favorite books.

This is a book you can read over and over, and every time, you will find something new that helps you understand life a little better. As another reviewer wrote, there is something both new and familiar about the concepts presented. It's easy to understand and to see how the information applies to your own life. And there is a surprising depth of information in a relatively short and easy read. This is one of the first books I read on the subject of Scientology and I continue to use the data from this book every day.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
I was on a lengthy search for answers back in 1967 when I was introduced to this book - a search that had included the study of various philosophical and religious texts from both East and West. As I was going through the pages of the book it became increasingly evident that this was going to be a different experience than those other works. There was a clarity here that I had not previously experienced. The concepts being introduced by the author were both new and yet very familiar. I had the feeling that he was expressing my deepest thoughts and experiences in a way no other writer had done before. By the time I got to the last page I was fairly certain I had found what I was looking for.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Maurice November 10, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

Fundamental

I was on a lengthy search for answers back in 1967 when I was introduced to this book - a search that had included the study of various philosophical and religious texts from both East and West. As I was going through the pages of the book it became increasingly evident that this was going to be a different experience than those other works. There was a clarity here that I had not previously experienced. The concepts being introduced by the author were both new and yet very familiar. I had the feeling that he was expressing my deepest thoughts and experiences in a way no other writer had done before. By the time I got to the last page I was fairly certain I had found what I was looking for.

Where I stand

I am a...
Independent Scientologist

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
This book covers the fundamentals of the subject of Scientology in clear, easy to read language. So what is the subject? It's a philosophy of life. In many ways it parallels the ancient wisdom found in the Veda's. If you're looking for answers about life I would highly recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Wow factor 
 
5.0
Informative 
 
5.0
Easy to understand 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Reviewed by zero November 10, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fundamentals of Life

This book covers the fundamentals of the subject of Scientology in clear, easy to read language. So what is the subject? It's a philosophy of life. In many ways it parallels the ancient wisdom found in the Veda's. If you're looking for answers about life I would highly recommend it.

Where I stand

I am a...
Other

Pros and Cons (optional)

Pros
Easy to read and offers a broad and fundamental understanding of life.
Cons
The information on processing in the last chapter is very good but perhaps not necessary in a book of this nature, but at least gives an idea of how processing relates to the concepts throughout.

Bottom line...

Recommend it to a friend?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews